Kosovo gets new government


The new Kosovo government was sworn in following a 67-30 vote in parliament on Monday, with Vetevendosje leader Albin Kurti as the prime minister for a second time.

Kurti’s cabinet will have 15 ministries and three deputy PMs. Kurti named Serb List leader Goran Rakic minister of Local Communities and Return and Emilija Redzepi from the Bosniak minority Minister of Minorities and Human Rights as well as Fakrim Damka from the Turkish minority Minister of Regional Development.

Besnik Bislimi will be Kurti’s first deputy PM in charge of European integration, dialogue and development, Donika Gerval is Foreign Minister, Xhelal Sveqla Internal Affairs Minister, Albulena Haxhiu Justice Minister, Rozeta Hajdari Trade and Industry Minister, Hekuran Murati Finance Minister, Arberie Nagavci Education and Science Minister, Hajrulah Qeku Culture, Youth and Sports Minister, Faton Peci Agriculture Minister, Liburn Aliu Infrastructure Minister, Artan Rizvanoli Economy Minister, Arben Vitia Health Minister, Armend Mekaj Defense Minister, Elbert Krasniqi Local Government Minister,

The vote for the new government came after parliament met for the first time after the February 14 early parliamentary elections.