Serbia introducing travel restriction measures due to Omicron virus variant

NEWS 05.12.202113:15

Serbian authorities have defined special measures for travelers coming from seven African countries due to the emergence of the Omicron variant and the risk of spreading the virus.

Dr. Rasa Milanov of the Sanitary Inspection told public broadcaster RTS that the measures at the Nikola Tesla airport have been tightened and that there is a special procedure for passengers coming from countries where the strain exists on a larger scale.

All passengers must have either provide a negative test for Covid-19 or proof of vaccination, or a certificate proving the recovery from the illness within the valid period.

In addition, another testing is being conducted at the airport and travellers are quarantined for 14 days.

The list of the countries includes South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Mozambique and Malawi.