US Embassy to Serbia: Belgrade will take part at Biden’s Summit for Democracy

NEWS 12.11.202120:04 0 komentara
REUTERS/Evelyn Hockstein

Serbia is invited to the Summit for Democracy organised by US President Joseph Biden, the US embassy in Belgrade has said on Friday, despite earlier reports that Belgrade and Pristina were not on the list of invitees.

„We are pleased that Serbia will join President Biden’s Summit for Democracy.  The United States values its partnership with Serbia, and we look forward to Serbia’s participation in the Summit, which will also provide a forum for Serbia to reaffirm its reform commitments for EU accession, and for the United States and its partners to announce their commitments to strengthen democracy at home and internationally,“ the embassy’s spokesperson said.
He did not refer to his words to the Beta agency on Tuesday saying that not all Washington’s partners could be included in Biden’s initiative. The goal was to gather a regionally and socio-economically diverse group of countries.


On the same day,  the US ambassador Antony Godfrey confirmed Serbia would not be invited to Biden’s Summit for Democracy.

related news


Serbia’s Prime Minister Ana Brnabic, who is in Paris to celebrate the 75th anniversary of UNESCO, has said on Friday it has been good news that Serbia is invited to the Summit, but that there is no reason for euphoria.

„President Aleksandar Vucic will participate online. We have received an invitation, which speaks of its hypocrisy and meaningless criticism both at home and in the region,“ she said.

The Summit for Democracy will be held online on December 9 and 10. It will bring together more than 100 countries to stop the democratic decline and the erosion of human rights and freedoms worldwide.

Last week, the Politiko website reported that Serbia, Kosovo, and Bosnia Herzegovina were not among the 100 invited countries.

Montenegro, Albania and Northern Macedonia from the Western Balkans Six were on the list.


Koje je tvoje mišljenje o ovome?

Budi prvi ko će ostaviti komentar!