Western Balkan leaders invited to European Political Community meeting

NEWS 22.09.2022 20:48
REUTERS/Yves Herman/File Photo

Leaders of the six Western Balkan countries have been invited to the first meeting of the European Political Community in Prague, AFP reported on Thursday.

It said that the 27 European Union member states will automatically be invited to attend along with Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, Norway, Switzerland, the UK Ukraine and Turkey.

The report said that British Prime Minister Liz Truss and Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan have not confirmed their attendance but made no mention of the Western Balkan leaders.

The idea for the new forum, the brainchild of French President Emmanuel Macron, is to provide a broad platform for political dialogue and cooperation as the continent grapples with the fallout of Russia’s war on Ukraine, AFP said.

It quoted an EU official as saying that initial „outreach meetings“ with invitees had gone „very well“.